Interview with the designer – norakaren of Etsy

25 Apr

During my (window)shoppings at Etsy, I’ve realized that it would be great to get to know some designers better. For this reason I’ve contacted the designer whose shoes amazed me the most so far and she was kind enough to answer my questions regarding her work. Without further ado, enjoy the interview and visit norakaren’s shop at Etsy!

THHT: How did it all start, why shoes?

Nora: I’ve been a painter/designer since I was a young girl seated on the porch of my house. In 2001 I started working seriously for a fashion designer and my first best seller was a pair of jeans made to commemorate September 11th.
In 2008 I opened my Etsy store based mostly on hand painted designs on fabric and I received a very unusual request on a pair of satin shoes. After that I loved the technique, the medium and of course the shoes (who doesn’t?) and the orders started pouring like rain. In 2009 I started a new line of hand painted shoes and it has been a complete success. I found this creations to be loved by womens who love style, by girls for their proms and parties and by brides for their themed weddings and it is my honor and pleasure to leave a piece of me in everyone of these events and it is an honor to participate in some way in one of the most important days of the women’s life.

THHT: How does the work process look like?

Nora: My work is defined by color, shine, glitters and fashion styles. I am constantly inspired by the graphic elements in nature and icons in every new design. The artistic process involves my mind, skills and emotions at the time to start a new pair.
At the moment I’m working with at least 5 shoe suppliers, 2 of regular shoes made of leather and other materials and 3 or more for the satin and dyeable shoes. After having the customer choose the style that fits her needs, desires and taste the most, we go together to the process of customizing what she has on mind and many times matching the design of the shoe with the themed wedding. I show them sometimes a rough about what it will look like made by hand or with Photoshop. Once we agree, my fingers start working on the painting (the artwork). The shoes take about 2 to 3 days to be designed due to many factors: one of the most important is the weather, they need to dry after dyeing and then after painting them.

THHT: Why are your products special?

Nora: When I started I don’t remember another designer of painted shoes around and now there are a few but still I feel like my products are first of all: one of a kind (I create all the designs one by one) they are a piece of art at your feet, unique and handmade. Those are some of the features that make them different from a mass-produced pair of shoes and also having the chance to wear the exact design you wanted on them. In my designs I try to display awesome moments in life, colorful places, creatures and most of all things that inspire me to live and let live a better life.

THHT: How is business going so far?

Nora: I’m happier than ever, can’t complain. I’m doing what I like to do and it gives me pleasure to create for the simple act of creating and much more when I can fulfill someone’s else dream.

THHT: Any plans for the future?

Nora: Yes, I’ve many plans. I want to start offering my shoes at Bridal and Signature Shows. I’d love to see them on a runway soon.
I want to see the business grow step by step and rejoice every day on what I’m doing and maybe in a not that far future having my own line of shoes.

As you can see, Nora is very versatile: whether you need flats-ballerinas, wedges, sandals, peep-toes or classic pumps, she’s got everything and I’m quite sure you won’t be in the awkward situation to see someone else wearing the same design as well. I want to thank Nora for the interview again, I hope you all enjoyed it!

Just because I know you’re eager to see more of her work, here’s the link again to get to her shop.

Have a nice and relaxing weekend!

10 Responses to “Interview with the designer – norakaren of Etsy”

  1. Kim April 25, 2010 at 7:31 am #

    I love Nora’s shoes! I have a pair and get compliments all the time when I wear them!She’s such a talented artist and designer! What a great interview!

  2. Kylie April 25, 2010 at 12:40 pm #

    I adore Nora’s shoes, especially the beautiful tulips! What a wonderful talent 🙂

  3. Kila April 25, 2010 at 4:35 pm #

    I just love her creations and I’m always eager to see what she will come up with next.

  4. Syed April 25, 2010 at 4:36 pm #

    Oh my what wonderful shoes!

  5. ginny April 25, 2010 at 4:55 pm #

    Nora, and her shoes, are awesome!

  6. Berta April 26, 2010 at 12:39 pm #

    Amazing shoes!

  7. tiffany April 26, 2010 at 5:26 pm #

    wow! creative heels!

  8. Kirafashion April 26, 2010 at 7:13 pm #

    Her shoes are so cool and funny!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Interview with the designer – norakaren of Etsy « The High Heel Times | Apex Designs - April 25, 2010

    […] The rest is here:  Interview with the designer – norakaren of Etsy « The High Heel Times […]

  2. Interview with the designer – norakaren of Etsy « The High Heel Times Shoes Me - April 25, 2010

    […] here to see the original:  Interview with the designer – norakaren of Etsy « The High Heel Times By admin | category: designer shoes | tags: designer shoes, kind-enough, netherlands, […]

Leave a Reply

