London – fashion shows, exhibition, theatre

17 Dec

As I’ve told you in my last post, I’ve attended two fashion shows last week. Now I’m about to share my experiences with you.

ATTENTION, THERE IS A LOT TO READ IN THIS POST  🙂

The first event was the London Designers Fashion Show near Liverpool Street. Though only six models were employed, four collections have been presented, three whose names I still can’t understand on my voice record that I’ve made and Brett Russell‘s. The last one, Mr Russell, is a 15-year old boy, I enjoyed his collection the most. You can see him in the picture with the model and on the last picture too.

My arrival was pretty early which meant that I had the chance to observe the rehearsals. The gentleman in white below was the choreographer, he showed the models which way they should go and what poses they should strike. The presenter was none other than Lucy Ambache of Choice FM, she can be seen wearing sequined leggings and the classic pointy red pumps (the picture has been taken at the end of the show as she interviewed the organizers).

The lights were OK on the stage but as soon as they walked off the stage right in front of us, there were no lights at all, I’m happy to see that most of my pictures still turned out good.

This collage is a “trailer”, I haven’t edited all the pictures (around 170!) nor have I uploaded them yet.

I hope to return to London in March again so I can attend their Fashion Fusion Expo (12-13.03.2010).

The other fashion show has been organized by the London College of Fashion and it’s 2nd year BA students. As in the case of the other show, I’ve seen the rehearsals at this event as well. They’ve had a zigzag catwalk without a proper stage, which was no problem. The problem has been caused by the lights – again – because they wanted to have almost full darkness with 5 light spots, where the models would stop for a few seconds. Two spots had projections behind them, which gave the two photographers – another guy and me – basically no chance but to try at the other three spots…

I’ve chosen the one in the middle because I saw that every model had two poses, so I had the chance to have at least one picture from the side and one frontal. You couldn’t get in the way of the spectators, of course…

The show was nice but once again, they didn’t really think about the photographers. Use lights, people, lights! All the big brands have well lit runways! Some of the models have been beginners but some of them were already experienced models. All in all, it was a successful show, congrats!

I’ve just finished editing and uploading the pictures (more than 240) for the organizers and for their college newspaper. Here’s a teaser of what happened on the 10th of December:

Download part 1, part 2, part 3 and part 4 of the pictures if you’re interested!

On the 16th of December, I’ve visited the exhibition “SHOWstudio: Fashion Revolution” hosted at Somerset House. It has been a truly amazing exhibition displaying projects masterminded by the world famous Nick Knight and his team. He’s a f.ckin’ genius! We had the chance to see details, backstage infos of brilliant and exceptional projects of the last few years.

But that’s not all!

“Innovative and influential photographer Nick Knight shoots 100 portraits of London’s beau monde. Watch his photo-shoots in the Live Studio as part of the SHOWstudio: Fashion Revolution exhibition. The portraits will be displayed in a gallery space adjacent to the Live Studio, and published in an up-coming issue of i-D magazine.”

Yes, through a double-mirror glass visitors had the chance to watch him at work. I saw a photo-shoot of a boy and a girl, and though there were no crazy ideas for the poses, the pictures turned out magnificent! Next to the “studio”, in an other room a girl has been very busy: she was putting the thumbnail galleries of the shoots on the wall, which means that the wallpaper was a simple black and white photo collection – there I saw some amazing shoots!

Trailer:

If you have the chance, go to Somerset House until the 20th of December and enjoy the exhibition, don’t be a fool to miss it!

Last but not least, my girlfriend and I were in theatre again, this time we saw Aladdin at the New Wimbledon Theatre – with Pamela Anderson being the guest star as Genie for two weeks (till the 27th of December).

The play was really good, with many excellent ideas and a lot of (local) jokes and humor and also many contemporary music tracks have been featured. I really do recommend it!

Of course, we waited at the stage door again to see Pam closer. I really felt like a paparazzi and I felt ashamed a bit. My own picture made using my phone:

Thanks for reading, soon I’ll return with posts about shoes 😉

5 Responses to “London – fashion shows, exhibition, theatre”

  1. Susan December 17, 2009 at 2:52 am #

    amazing post! well done 🙂
    xoxo

  2. janettaylor December 17, 2009 at 9:33 am #

    Love those ruffle sandals!

    Have a lovely day!
    Xx

  3. The Girl December 18, 2009 at 8:42 am #

    Looks like you are having a lot of fun in London! Have a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!
    All the best for 2010!

  4. Miss Neira December 20, 2009 at 6:49 pm #

    Love the lace dresses!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fresh From twitter.com/CTSeven « Cheap London Theatre - December 17, 2009

    […] London u2013 fashion shows, exhibition, theatre u00ab The High Heel Times http://bit.ly/4Ld4jp […]

Leave a Reply

