The dresses of October 2009

25 Oct

Today is the last Sunday of October, so I did put a few outfits together. I think they represent the current trends in London, I’ve been influenced by all those looks on the streets, I admit.

Let’s say, three sisters went out to party to London’s most fascinating places:

Click here to see all the details – shoes by Brian Atwood, Emanuel Ungaro and Christian Louboutin. I know, I know, these ladies left their home without their purses and without any accessoires πŸ™‚

Okay, let me talk now a bit about the influence and the experiences that I had when I put these outfits together. First of all, I had the opportunity to see the City on a Friday and a Saturday night, which means everyone went nuts there and showed off their outfits. I also had the pleasure to be at a prestigious night club (where a fashion show took place, pictures coming up next week) – I felt like I’d be in the Hills πŸ™‚ The point is, I’ve seen plenty of chick and glamorous girls and ladies, their outfits gave the inspiration how to do the looks of the sisters – of course, with high-end items.

There were also other experiences. In this city, girls wear flats at daytime, there aren’t that many heels during the day – which is quite interesting IMO (except the Japanese ladies who seem to have born with heels on). I know it’s hard to wear them like for 8-9 hours, but still, that’s not impossible. I’ve got a friend who has one pair of flats and that’s her trainers which she uses for running. Anyway, all these girls change when the sun goes down, and almost the whole city has heels on – and they don’t seem to suffer!

Of course, some of them do. I can’t hide my smile when I see a girl carrying her heels in her hands around 1 am, walking on the streets barefoot (=big NO!). Is it impossible to find shoes that don’t kill your feet? Clever girls take a bag with them, in which they have their ballerinas for such occasions…

Another thing: I see girls and ladies in this city going to the party/going home without any jackets, usually without thighs, sometimes wearing peep toe pumps. I can see some of them are freezing in this temperatures (around +3-8 Celcius), some are all right. What is wrong with them? If it’s cold, why don’t they wear a freakin’ jacket? Those who are all right, how come they don’t freeze (no, they aren’t all Russians)? Please tell me the story behind this. The cloakroom isn’t that expensive!

As you see, there are some things that surprise me in London πŸ™‚ If there are any readers from London, feel free to tell about your point of view πŸ˜‰

This week is blog anniversary week, hopefully there will be a lot going on around here, check back often! πŸ˜‰

Thanks for reading, have a nice Sunday!

11 Responses to “The dresses of October 2009”

  1. The Shoe Girl October 25, 2009 at 4:50 am #

    YAY! Happy anniversary week! πŸ˜‰

    xox

  2. Krimly October 25, 2009 at 1:31 pm #

    I love the outfit from the 24 years old, so I am!! πŸ™‚

    happy anniversary week too!!!

  3. Susan October 25, 2009 at 3:37 pm #

    love these outfits!
    xoxo

  4. Susan October 25, 2009 at 3:37 pm #

    oh, and happy anniversary week, too! πŸ™‚

  5. janettaylor October 25, 2009 at 4:05 pm #

    WOW! U have a great taste! πŸ™‚

    Happy Anniversary week too!

  6. Elise October 25, 2009 at 4:07 pm #

    Happy anniversary !

    I love the first dress but without the leggins

  7. stilettolover91 October 25, 2009 at 10:45 pm #

    I would probably wear what the 19 year old girl wore!!

  8. Tamara October 26, 2009 at 10:59 am #

    That really shocked me about some girls in London, too! How can they go out at night, in mid December without jackets or tights? And even with strappy sandals… I was there some time as an exchange student and just couldn’t believe it. Plus, used to Spanish weather I was totally freeezing…
    xo!

  9. tanya October 26, 2009 at 3:58 pm #

    I am in love with those atwoods…come to mama πŸ™‚

  10. HauteWorld October 26, 2009 at 7:44 pm #

    I can’t wait to see more of your London pictures! And yes, it’s not just London, but in the UK in general, girls wear very short skirts and no jacket when they go out at night. I’m not quite sure why, but it’s a bit silly.

    Love the outfits you put together! And in Paris it’s the same…. during the day you won’t see anyone walk around in heels (unless they work in fashion and are going to a business meeting). Heels are only worn at night when going out.

  11. Elizabeth Marie October 27, 2009 at 12:06 am #

    Ohhh how fun. Can I be 19 even though…I’m not? πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

