Zee Germans

13 Aug

After a couple of days of absence [there’s so much work and travelling to do these days :S ] I’m back again to make a mega-post again, with a subject that will surprise many of you.

Mainly, because I bet you don’t know the people you’ll see in a few moments 🙂 Since I live in Europe, the German influence is massive in many parts of our everyday life. However, in the case of the shoes, shoe design, it’s a bit different.

It looks like the most famous ladies in the country that gave us Karl Lagerfeld, Jil Sander, Hugo Boss and Escada wouldn’t care that much about high-fashion, especially not about shoes, unlike their colleagues do in France, Britain or even in Italy. Of course, you can see some well-known pair every now and then, but I wonder what the reason behind this phenomenon is.

credit for the drawing to http://storms.typepad.com/booklust/

Now I’m going to show you a lot of German – even if some names don’t sound sooo German – ladies: TV hosts, singers, actresses, models, athletes, society chicks (aka useless people), bands.

I’m really interested in your opinions! How do you like what you see? Did you know any of them?

To see the examples yourself, click on the link below.

One of the best German swimmers ever

Credit for the drawing to of the first image to: http://storms.typepad.com/booklust/

I hope you enjoyed this post, whether or not, tell me about it 🙂

PS.: Since I’m going to be away on Sunday, the “Please don’t” post will be posted on next Sunday, together with the uauasl Polydress.

PS2.: Just in case you’ve missed it, here’s were the title comes from:

7 Responses to “Zee Germans”

  1. Susan August 14, 2009 at 10:17 pm #

    némelyik elég… hm… “német” 🙂
    van köztük néhány stílusos look, de összességében negatív a mérlegem.
    szép hétvégét Neked, xoxo

  2. Susan August 15, 2009 at 10:35 am #

    left you an award on my blog. hope you like it 🙂
    x

  3. La Couturier August 17, 2009 at 4:27 pm #

    This is interesting – I’m quite excited since I haven’t seen/heard of a lot of this!

    bisous,
    La C.

  4. Modediktat August 17, 2009 at 9:46 pm #

    OH MY…. You did a great, greeaaaaat and HUUUUUGE work!
    I’m thrilled of HOW many German celebrities you’ve catched into one posting… There are a few one’s I don’t know – and I’m German. Hello.
    Wow! I give the award for the most long posting now to you!!! Well deserved!
    But a true award is waiting for you on my blog, too!

    I would say that Verona Pooth has maybe the best sense of style. At least in last two years. Yvonne Catterfeld is also finding her way. Very clean chic.

    xoxo sofie

  5. hauteworld August 19, 2009 at 10:23 am #

    Ahh, terrific post! I used to live in Germany (my dad’s German) so this is bringing back a lot of memories. I don’t know a lot of these, but a lot I do know. I agree with Sofie regarding Verona Pooth and Yvonne Catterfeld. I also think Bettina Zimmermann is quite charming. Most of these (like any celebrities) are fairly annoying though.. haha.

    I agree though that Germany being the largest economy in Europe and being the home of so many big designers isn’t as high fashion. I never figured out why.

  6. janettaylor August 20, 2009 at 3:40 pm #

    Hi again,

    I have got a beautiful little thing for U on my blog.♥

  7. Joy April 16, 2012 at 11:35 pm #

    Just found that post and it’s amazing. I am German and i fell ashamed by that! But it’s just the truth. German “celebrity” woman (sometimes also gents, but I will come to that point later) have no sense of style. Ok, maybe I can’t judge people’s personal “style”, but I can judge the Germans for having at least no sense of style. I mean it’s normal, that you see an outfit of someone and don’t like it. But I think there’s always something inspiring for me. Always expect I see the German ladies at a special event. I can not say why, but they just look aaaaawful! What a shame, ladies!
    But I have to admit that the gents are better at it. A good example may be Matthias Schweighöfer, a German actor and producer. And I think also other men dress better than the woman in Germany. All that talking was just about the evening garderobe of the Germans, but I guess they do much better at every-day style. Particularly in Berlin. There are so many good dressed and inspiring people in this city(that does not include that there are no bad-dressed- we do have them as well)! I do not mean celebrities but mostly bloggers, artists but also students.

    This is what just came up to my mind, when I read this.
    good post though,
    xx

Leave a Reply

